So exciting! I have it specially configured to have black dish wheels, and a blue “flaming” shell.

It uses the SH-21 3-port competition engine with pull-start. I did have some thoughts of hopping up to SH-28 buggy engine out of the box, but I do have some intentions of racing this, so gotta keep within race regulations. Besides, keeping the weight down with the lighter engine is good too as it’s less likely to damage on badly timed landings. Moreover, the running distances on an off-road track largely don’t permit heavy throttling except for the straights so the 4.6cc SH engine would not be of much use – unless for bashers.

I might remove the pull-start at a later stage and turn to starter boxes- which most racers use as they are SO CONVENIENT in starting cars.

Previously, I did think long and hard between a 1/10 nitro truggy and a 1/8 buggy – I even thought of getting a second hand modded Hobao Hyper 7. But what about parts? And also, since I’m an BSD cars and parts importer for my country anyway, makes no sense for me to support other brands. Here in Singapore, we only have tracks and races for 1/8 scale nitro. 1/10 racers unfortunately come under the “fun event” segment of RC tournaments here. Besides, the OEM Backdraft 3.5 is SO LIGHT, that it’s classified under Redcat’s “Ultra-light” series so by way of elimination, the choice was quite clear. Now, I can share parts and hop-ups between my BS809T and my soon to arrive BS802T!

There were thoughts also, on as to whether I should get a more established kind of buggy, i.e. Inferno, Losi 8, D8, RC8, SX3- and indeed, those brands have great steering designs, but I think that with the BS802T’s supposed durability, and perhaps a faster, higher torque steerings servo, and the existing good weight balance, this car could be more suited to me than any other! While that’s still in transit, do enjoy some pictures… of both the BS802T (OEM), and the Redcat BSD Backdraft 3.5 to begin with.

BSD Racing BS802T | OEM Redcat BS802T

BSD Racing BS802T | OEM Redcat Backdraft 3.5 (Top View)

BSD Racing BS802T | OEM Redcat BS802T

BSD Racing BS802T | OEM Redcat Backdraft 3.5 (Chasis View)

BSD Racing BS802T | OEM Redcat Racing Backdraft 3.5 (Side View)

BSD Racing BS802T | OEM Redcat Backdraft 3.5 (Side View)

Redcat Backdraft 3.5 (Back Angle View)

Redcat Backdraft 3.5 (Back Angle View)

Redcat Backdraft 3.5 (ChasisView)

Redcat Backdraft 3.5 (ChasisView)

If you’re looking at getting one of these BSD Racing BS802T, or rather, OEM Redcat Backdraft 3.5s.. I currently import them for off-line sale in Singapore. I can also have them exported to your country. An e-commerce site is on the way. Meanwhile, drop me an email at adrenalineboom@yahoo.com if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

